Welcome To Swain County

Tax Office

The Swain County real property appeal process begins January 1st and ends on March 31st. All appeals must be filed with the Assessor’s office not later than March 31st 2021. The decision is effective for current year only, not retroactive.

Appeal Form

Board of Equalization and Review Appeal Form (pdf)

Forms may be filled out and sent to:
Swain County Board of Equalization and Review
PO Box 2321
Bryson City, NC 28713

or dropped off at the Swain County Tax Office, located at the county Courthouse Building.


Tax Department
Courthouse Building
101 Mitchell Street
Bryson City, NC 28713

Mailing Address:
PO Box 2321
Bryson City, NC 28713

Peggy Hyde
Swain County Tax Administrator

Jessica Danner
Reappraisal Manager
828-488-9273 x2381

Ramona Powell
Mapping Auditor
828-488-9273 x 2221

Dawn Zalva
Tax Assistant 1
828-488-9273 x 2224

Tax Office Hours:
8:00 am – 5:00 pm
Monday - Friday
Closed for all State holidays.