Welcome To Swain County

Register of Deeds

Vital Records

To obtain a certified copy of a vita record:
Online request: Click here (https://swainrod.permitium.com) and follow the instructions to submit and pay for a Vital Record request online. A Valid photo ID is required. You may upload a photo on the Premitium Site, email a photo to swainrod@hotmail.com, fax to 828-488-6947, or mail to Swain County Register of Deeds, PO Box 1183. Fees for certified copies are $10.00 each and uncertified copies are $1.00 each. You pay by major credit/debit cards online. (A fee is charged if paying by credit card)

Apply in person: Swain County Courthouse Building 101 Mitchell Street Bryson City, NC 28713. A valid State ID or driver’s license from DMV, military ID or current passport is required. Fees for a certified copy are $10.00 and a uncertified copy is $1.00 each. We accept cash, money orders, or checks with ID.
By mail: Certified copies are $10.00 each. Uncertified copies are $1.00 each. You may send in your request with money order or check made payable to the Register of Deeds. Our mailing address is PO Box 1183 Bryson City, NC 28713. We also will need a copy of your ID and an original signature or the request will not be processed.

Under N.C. law (G.S. 130A-26A) it is a felony violation to fraudulently request a certified copy of a vital record or obtain possess, sell, furnish, use or attempt to use for any purpose of deception a North Carolina vital record. North Carolina General Statute 130A-93 specifies who is entitled to obtain a certified copy as follows:

Authorized agent, attorney or legal representative (proof required)


Register of Deeds
Courthouse Building
101 Mitchell Street
Bryson City, NC 28713

Mailing Address:
PO Box 1183
Bryson City, NC 28713

Diana Williamson Kirkland
Register of Deeds
Phone 828-488-9273, ext. 2205

Office Hours:
8:30 am – 5:00 pm
Monday - Friday
Marriage Licenses issued
8:30 am - 4:30 pm