Welcome To Swain County

Swain County Soil and Water District
Board of Supervisors

The Swain Soil and Water Conservation District is governed by a five member district board. The board consists of two members appointed by the State Soil and Water Conservation Commission and three members which are elected by the Citizens of Swain County, to a four year staggered term on a non-partisan basis. Board meetings are open to the public and are held on the second Wednesday of every month at 9:00 a.m. in Conference Room 213 of the Bryson City Federal Building. Board meetings are open to the public and are held on the second Monday of every month at 9:00 AM in the conference room at 100 Brendle Street in Bryson City. Board meetings are held at the Swain SWCD office at 100 Bendle Sreet on the second Monday of each month beginning at 9:00 AM.

Board Members

Clint "Cam" Carson, Jr., Chairman
120 West Jenkins Branch Road
Bryson City, NC 28713

Avery Taylor, Member
485 Wildcat Branch Rd
Bryson City, NC 28413

Mitchell Jenkins, Member
Post Office Box 593
Bryson City, NC 28713

William Shuler, Member
1165 West Deep Creek
Bryson City, NC 28713

Jack Walls, Secretary/Treasurer
980 Sitton Road
Bryson City, NC 28713

Office Staff

Creeden Kowal, Soil and Water Conservation District
District Director
creeden.kowal@nc.nacdnet.net

Jeffrey Epps, Natural Resources Conservation Service
District Conservationist
jeffrey.epps@nc.udsa.gov

Amanda Buchanan, Natural Resources Conservation Service
District Conservationist NRCS Soil Conservationist
amanda.buchanan@nc.udsa.gov

Michael Wiggins, Natural Resources Conservation Service
NRCS Soil Conservationist
michael.wiggins@nc.usda.gov

Cayle Aldridge, Natural Resources Conservation Service Soil Conservation Technician
cayle.aldridge@nc.nacnet.net

Shelby Cook, Soil and Water Conservation District
Education Coordinator
Phone 828-488-2684, ext. 3099
shelby.cook@swaincountync.gov

Contact

Soil and Water Conservation Office
100 Brendle Street
Bryson City, NC 28713

Contact:
Creeden Kowal
Director
Phone 828-488-2684, ext. 3106
Fax 828-488-0747
email

Shelby Cook
Education Coordinator
Phone 828-488-2684, ext. 3099
email

Office Hours:
8:00 am – 4:30 pm
Monday - Friday