Swain County, NC Banner
Welcome To Swain County
Free OTC Meds

About Swain County

Geographically, the county is spectacular. Much of it lies within the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, including its highest peak, Clingmans Dome. Four scenic rivers, the Nantahala, the Tuckasegee, the Oconaluftee and the Little Tennessee flow through the county and form the sprawling Lake Fontana, west of Bryson City, the county seat.

View the Bryson City WebCams

The county also encompasses much of the Cherokee Indian Reservation, with its own independent government. Formed in 1871 from parts of Jackson County and Macon County, the county was named for David L. Swain, governor of North Carolina from 1832 to 1835. The estimated population in 2010 was 13,981. This was an increase of 7.8% from the 2000 census.

get code red weather warnings Sign up to receive CodeRed Weather Warnings.

Community Announcements

The Swain County Board of Commissioners announce a legal notice Link

The Swain County Board of Commissioners announce a lease agreement PDF

Swain County has a job opening for a part time transportation worker with the Department of Social Services. Link

Swain County is accepting applications for three 911 Dispatchers. Link

Swain County Board of Elections has posted documents concerning the General Election. Link

The new Solid Waste Ordinance is posted.